Uganda at Glance



Page under construction

Tourism & Investment

Page under construction

The Economy

Uganda’s economy is made up of the Agriculture 24.2%; Industry 25.5%; and Services 50.3% sectors.
The Agricultural sector includes Fisheries, Animal Husbandry, Dairy, and Crop sub-sectors.
While the Industrial sector includes Manufacturing, Construction, and Electricity Supply sub-sectors; the Services sector is made up of Wholesale and Retail trade, Telecommunications, Hotels and Restaurants, Transport and Communications and Tourism sub sectors. Uganda has sustained economic growth at an average rate of 7% per annum.

People & Culture

Kingdoms Culture and Ethnic Groups: The Ugandan common Culture, The languages, The Bantu, the Nilotic, The NileHamaites, traditional Dressing, history, cultural resource...

Religion, Beliefs and faith:The Roman Catholics, the Protestants, the Muslims, Indigenous beliefs, Hinduism….

Entertainment and leisure:Lifestyles (urban and rural), recreation centres, Cerebrated festivals, entertainment, ....

National Events & Calendar

This is a list of public holidays in Uganda.

January 1: New Year's Day

January 26: Liberation Day

March 8: International Women's Day

April 6: Good Friday

April 9: Easter Monday

May 1: Labour Day

June 3: Martyr's Day

June 9: National Heroes Day

Date variable: Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan)

October 9: Independence Day

Date variable: Eid al-Adha (Feast of the Sacrifice)

December 25: Christmas Day

December 26: Boxing Day

Maps & Regions

The regions of Uganda are known as Central, Western, Eastern, and Northern. These four regions are in turn divided into districts. There were 56 districts in 2002, which expanded into 111 districts plus one city (Kampala) by 2010.

National Symbols

National Coat of arms


Constitution & Government

Constitutional law and the government of Uganda:

Uganda is a Sovereign State and a Republic. It is a sitting member of the United Nations, African Union, The East African Community and the Commonwealth. The Government of the Republic of Uganda is a Democracy made up of three arms: The Executive – comprising of president, vice president, prime minister, cabinet; The Legislative - parliament; and The Judiciary - Magistrates' Courts, High Court, Court of Appeals (Constitutional Court), Supreme Court.

Facts & Figures

Land Area: 199,808 Sq. Km.
Water and Swamps: 41,743 Sq. Km
Total Area: 241,551 Sq. Km.

Latitude: 4012’N and 1029’S
Longitude:29034’E and 3500’W

Minimum (above sea level – Albert Nile): 620 metres
Maximum (above sea level – Mt. Rwenzori):5,110 metres

Kampala: Annual Mean Temperature: 17.00C
Kampala: Annual Rainfall: 1436.0 mm

Subscribe to RSS - Uganda at Glance